This section describes how to manage all types of virtual machine templates from the Apps Library screen. First, in the column on the left, click on the datacenter or public cloud region you want to manage. On the right side of the screen you will see all the packages available to build virtual machines for the selected datacenter or public cloud region. The templates can be viewed by categories, for example "Operating Systems".
Select a virtual machine template in the appliance library to activate the virtual machine template operations menu. This menu will vary, depending on the context.
In the appliance library, you can perform the following operations on virtual machine templates in public cloud regions (PCR) or private cloud datacenters (DC):
In a datacenter, if you have the Download virtual machine template privilege, you can download the template disk to your local machine hard drive. It is also possible to download a virtual machine template disk file by clicking Download when modifying the template.
|Import||In a public cloud region, if you have the appropriate privilege, you can import remote templates to the Apps Library for the public cloud region|
You can change variables such as the template name, icon URL, etc, as explained in Modify a VM Template
Remove the template from the appliance library. See Delete a VM Template
|Promote Instance||Instances only. Promote an instance to a master template. Abiquo copies the template before promoting it See Manage Instances|
Indicates a shared template that may be used by all enterprises. Only a user with the "Administer all enterprises" privilege (by default Cloud Admin) can enable and manage sharing. See Share Virtual Machine Templates
Indicates a master template with instances created of machines using this template. Click on the template to open the instance view
The Chef template icon used by the administrator to indicate to Abiquo which templates are Chef-enabled
|Indicates a secondary template that is an instance of a master template. If Abiquo displays a secondary template in the main Apps Library view, this means that the master template is unavailable. Click the checkbox to display Deleted Masters to display the master template in the main view and the instances in the instance view|
|This symbol is only visible when the checkbox to display Deleted Masters is selected. It indicates that a template is unavailable. This means that the template disk file has been deleted but the template definition is still in the Apps Library. You can restore the template by replacing the disk file. When the template is no longer in use in virtual machines and has no dependent instances, you can delete the template.|
|Indicates a failed template|
The Shared and Chef parameters and other characteristics can be set when you Modify a VM Template.