Abiquo 5.1

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


Introduction to Alerts

Alerts are a group of one or more alarms. An alert can notify the user when it activates and it can also trigger action plans. An alert activates when all its alarms are activated. An alarm activates when a metric passes a certain threshold. 

If you imagine a dashboard for your metrics, alarms are like red lights that light up when conditions change, for example, when there is a problem. Alerts are like a worker monitoring a group of alarms; when all the lights for the group are lit up, then the worker takes action and activates the alert. 



Display Alerts

To display and manage alerts:
  1. Go to Control → Alerts


Create Alerts and Alarms

An alert will trigger when all its alarms are activated. You can use the alert to trigger actions. See Manage Action Plans.

Privilege: Access alerts section, Manage alerts

Before you begin:

  1. Retrieve VM built-in metrics, by editing VMs and enabling monitoring (see VM monitoring and metrics) or create custom metrics
  2. Optionally create metric alarms (see Manage cloud alarms and Infrastructure Alarms). You must add at least one alarm to be able to save the alert.

To create an alert:

  1. Go to ControlAlerts
  2. Click the + add button
  3. Enter the alert details and assign alarms as described below

  4. Click Save


Field

Description

Name

Name of the alert. The name can contain up to 128 characters

DescriptionDescribe the alert
MutedSelect this checkbox to disable action when the alert is activated
EmailList of email addresses to notify when the alert activates. Click Add email to save an address

Click the + add button to assign alarms to the alert.

You must assign at least one alarm to be able to save the alert. Select an existing alarm, or create a new alarm, and assign it to the alert. Repeat for the required alarms

You can filter the Alarms list by Metric and also if the alarm is Active or not. 



Remove alarms from alerts

You can delete any alarm at any time, even if it is part of one or more alerts. The platform will not warn you that the alarm is used in an alert. However, you can check this in Control view. After you delete an alarm, you cannot recover it.

You can also remove an alarm from an alert.

Privilege: Access alarms section, Manage alarms, Manage alerts

To delete an alarm:

  1. Go to Virtual datacenters or Infrastructure →  Alarms
  2. Select the alarm and delete it

To remove an alarm from an alert:

  1. Go to Control → Alerts → edit alert

  2. Select the alarm, click the delete button, and confirm
    The platform will remove it from this alert, but it will remain in all other alerts that it is associated with

If you delete a VM, the platform will delete any alarms associated with its metrics.